Main Content


Five candidates have filed for the three open seats on the East Central College board of trustees.    


Prudence Fink Johnson of Union, current board vice president, is unopposed in her bid for another six-year term on the board.  Fink Johnson will retain her seat, representing Sub-district Two which includes the school districts of Lonedell R-14, St. Clair R-13, and Union R-11 excluding the Lyon and Boone Township portion of Union R-11 and that portion located in the Beaufort-Union precinct.  She is completing her third term on the ECC governing board. 


Two people have filed for the seat in Sub-district Two formerly held by Catherine Scott of St. Clair.  Ann Hartley and Kathryn Hurlbert, both of Union, are looking to serve the remaining two years of Scott’s unexpired term.  Scott resigned from the board in August when she moved out of the college district.   


Incumbent Don Kappelmann from Sub-district One is being challenged by Joseph Stroetker.  Kappelmann is from New Haven and is completing his first term.  Stroetker is from Sullivan.    


Sub-district One includes the school districts of Crawford County R-1 (Bourbon), Sullivan C-2, Strain-Japan R-16, Spring Bluff R-15, Franklin County R-2, New Haven, the portions of Lyon and Boone Townships as well as the Beaufort-Union precinct in the Union R-11 School District.  Also included in Sub-district One are the portions of the Boeuf and Lyon Townships in the Washington School District. 


The ECC board consists of six trustees, two each from three sub-districts of the college district.  Trustees are elected at large, but a candidate must be a resident of the sub-district he or she represents.   


The board of trustees is the sole statutory legislative governing body responsible for the control and operation of East Central College.  Neither state statutes nor district policy limits the number of terms a member may serve. 


Regular monthly meetings of the ECC board are held on the first Monday of the month.

Go back to top