Main Content


Voters in the East Central College district returned one member to the board of trustees and elected another to serve an unexpired two-year term.


Unofficial results show incumbent Don Kappelmann from Sub-district One defeated Dr. Joseph Stroetker of Sullivan. Kappelmann, a New Haven native, received 5,638 votes to 2,542 for Stroetker. Kappelmann has served one term on the board.


Ann Hartley defeated fellow Union resident Kathryn Hurlbert for the Sub-district Two seat formerly held by Catherine Scott of St. Clair. Hartley garnered 4,843 votes and Hurlbert received 3,172. Hartley will serve the remaining two years of Scott’s unexpired term.


Scott resigned from the board last August when she moved out of the college district.


Prudence Fink Johnson of Union, current board vice president, was unopposed in her bid for another six-year term on the board. Fink Johnson also represents Sub-district Two and has served on the board for 18 years.


College trustees will meet Monday, April 9, for their regular monthly meeting. At that time, the board will accept results of the April election as certified by the county clerks. Fink Johnson, Kappelmann and Hartley will be sworn into office and the new board will elect a president, vice president, secretary and treasurer to serve for the next two years.


The board of trustees is the sole statutory legislative governing body responsible for the control and operation of East Central College. Neither state statutes nor district policy limits the number of terms a member may serve.


The ECC board consists of six trustees, two each from three sub-districts of the college district. Trustees are elected at large, but must be a resident of the sub-district he or she represents.


Sub-district One includes the school districts of Crawford County R-1 (Bourbon), Sullivan C-2, Strain-Japan R-16, Spring Bluff R-15, Franklin County R-2, New Haven, the portions of Lyon and Boone Townships as well as the Beaufort-Union precinct in the Union R-11 School District. Also included in Sub-district One are the portions of the Boeuf and Lyon Townships in the Washington School District.


Sub-district Two includes the school districts of Lonedell R-14, St. Clair R-13, and Union R-11 excluding the Lyon and BooneTownship portion of Union R-11 and that portion located in the Beaufort-Union precinct.


Results are unofficial and will be certified by county clerks in Crawford, Franklin, Gasconade, St. Charles, Warren and Washington Counties later this week.


More than 62,000 voters living in the college district were registered to vote in the April 3 election.


Unofficial Election Results


                                        Sub-district One                

                                   Kappelmann   Stroetker         

Crawford County              164               140                

Franklin County             4,912            2,127              

Gasconade County              0                   0                       

St. Charles County           168                 61                    

Warren County                 378               195                

Washington County            16                 19        

             TOTAL             5,638            2,542   


                                     Sub-district Two

                                    Hartley       Hurlbert              

Crawford County              160               133

Franklin County             4,256           2,648

Gasconade County              0                  0

St. Charles County            102              122

Warren County                  305              254

Washington County            20                15

             TOTAL              4,843           3,172

Go back to top