Main Content


Anyone considering a career in the field of health care should plan to attend one of the upcoming information sessions at East Central College in Union.

Free information sessions are scheduled for Monday, January 14, at 3 p.m. or Wednesday, January 16, at 10 a.m.

Sarah Havens, coordinator of the Health Career Transitions program at ECC, noted that each session is designed to introduce potential students to the opportunities available in the health care and services industry.  “We review the admissions process and discuss career exploration and skills assessment,” Havens said.

Later in the month the first of two Transitions workshops will be held.  Transitions is a free program open to anyone considering the health care field.

Over the course of three weeks, Transitions participants review their math, computer and English skills.  The first session for 2013 is scheduled for January 22 through February 8.  Another session is set for February 11 through March 1.  Students who successfully complete the three week program earn 3 hours of college credit.

“Through the Missouri Health WINs grant, ECC has set up the workshops to help students develop the math, reading and writing skills needed to be successful in the health care industry,” stated Havens.  “We acquaint students with health care organizations and professionals in the field so they have an understanding of what is required to be successful prior to even starting classes.”

Havens noted that tuition waivers for coursework may be available to some students through the MOHealthWINs grant.

Since space is limited at information sessions and Transitions workshops, people wanting to attend should contact Havens at 636-584-6659 or

MOHealthWINs is a U.S. Department of Labor grant-funded program to serve Trade Act participants as well as veterans, unemployed and underemployed individuals, and low-skilled persons in Missouri.  MOHealthWINs supports training activities in health services/health sciences career pathways throughout the state.  ECC and 12 other two-year institutions are participating in the program.

Go back to top