Main Content

Filing dates for the April 8, 2014, East Central College board of trustees election have been set.  Filing will open on Tuesday, December 17, at 8 a.m. and close at 5 p.m. on Tuesday, January 21.


The terms of Charlie Betz from sub-district one and Ann Hartley from sub-district two expire next April. 


Sub-district one includes the school districts of Crawford County R-1 (Bourbon), Sullivan C-2, Strain-Japan R-16, Spring Bluff R-15, Franklin County R-2, New Haven, the portions of Lyon and Boone Townships as well as the Beaufort-Union precinct in the Union R-11 School District.  Also included in sub-district one are the portions of the Boeuf and Lyon Townships in the Washington School District. 


Sub-district two includes the school districts of Lonedell R-14, St. Clair R-13, and Union R-11 excluding the Lyon and Boone Township portion of Union R-11 and that portion located in the Beaufort-Union precinct.


The ECC board consists of six trustees, two each from three sub-districts of the college district.  Trustees are elected at large, but a candidate must be a resident of the sub-district he or she represents.   


Betz, current board treasurer, is completing his third term on the East Central College board.  He was first elected in 1996 and was re-elected in 2002 and 2008.  He served as board vice president for four years beginning in 1998; and another four years as board president from 2002 to 2006.    


Hartley has been on the board since 2012 when she was elected to serve out the remaining two-year term of former trustee Catherine Scott.  In August of 2011, Scott resigned her seat on the board when she moved out of the college district.   


Declaration of candidacy forms must be filed in the President’s Office located in Room 254 in Buescher Hall on the ECC campus in Union, weekdays between 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m.  Filings will not be accepted during the holiday break which starts at 4:30 p.m. on Friday, December 20.  Filing will resume Thursday, January 2, at 8 a.m.  No filings will be accepted on Monday, January 20, when the college will be closed to observe the Martin Luther King Jr. holiday.


A candidate for the ECC board must be a citizen of the United States, at least 21 years of age, a voter of the college district for at least one full year preceding the election date, and a current resident of the sub-district for which he or she files.   The board of trustees is the sole statutory legislative governing body responsible for the control and operation of East Central College.  Neither state statutes nor district policy limits the number of terms a member may serve.  Regular monthly meetings of the ECC board are held on the first Monday of the month.


Other trustees include Jim Perry -Washington, board president; Prudence Fink Johnson -Union, board vice president; Tom Dill -Washington, board secretary; and Don Kappelmann -New Haven, member. 

Go back to top

Sidebar Content

Go back to top