Main Content


An induction ceremony was held recently at East Central College in Rolla to welcome the newest members into its international honor society. The students joined ECC’s Beta Omicron chapter of Phi Theta Kappa during the spring 2014 induction ceremony.


Nine students joined the local chapter, which was chartered in October 2007 and has inducted a total of 166 students. The ceremony featured a keynote address by Dr. Patsy Watts, an English instructor at ECC.  Chapter advisor Dr. Beth Rozema welcomed the group to the society.


“This group of students is exceptional and I’m proud of them,” said Rozema.  “Induction into Phi Theta Kappa formally acknowledges their hard work to achieve high academic standards.”


After the ceremony inductees, family and friends enjoyed a reception in the Rolla Technical Center.


Annually, more than 90,000 students are inducted into Phi Theta Kappa. The purpose of the honor society is to recognize and encourage scholarship among students at two-year colleges. The society provides opportunity for the development of leadership and service, an intellectual climate to exchange ideas and ideals, lively fellowship for scholars, and stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence.


To be eligible for membership, a student must complete a minimum of 12 hours of course work and earn a grade point average of 3.4 or higher. Students must maintain a high academic standing throughout their enrollment in the two-year college.


  new member and officers of ECC-Rolla Phi Theta Kappa Chapter


The Phi Theta Kappa scholastic honor society inducted new members into the chapter at East Central College in Rolla this spring.  Shown, front row, from left, are Kristin Blake, public relations secretary; Alix Cassidy-Ward, new member; Dawn Williams, new member/recording secretary; Ashley Groff, vice president; Brittany Parrish, new member; and Dr. Beth Rozema, advisor. In back, from left, are Katherine Lewis, new member; Laurie McFalls, president; Ron Sones, new member, Jacob Siehr, new member; Andy Johnson, new member; Ashley Asher, new member; and Jonathan Laposa, new member.  

Go back to top

Sidebar Content

Go back to top