Clubs and Organizations

The clubs listed below are currently active.  Clubs retain their active status by maintaining a roster of five members each semester.  Each club is also required to have a faculty of staff sponsor.

Students with a particular interest are encouraged to start their own clubs.  That process is outlined at the bottom of this page with supporting information on the “Forms and Applications” page.

The majority of the clubs listed below are active on the ECC campus in Union.  Clubs at ECC’s Rolla location are so noted. Please note that all phone numbers with “ext.” begin with 636-584-XXXX.

 

Anime Club
Mission: To expose the exciting world of Japanese animated television to the unaware.

Sponsor: Bill Cunningham – ext. 6651, william.cunningham@eastcentral.edu

 

Art Club
Mission: To create a vision of community around the arts.

Sponsor: Adam Watkins – ext. 6652, adam.watkins@eastcentral.edu

 

Collegiate DECA
Mission: DECA prepares emerging leaders and entrepreneurs in marketing, finance, hospitality, and management in high schools and colleges around the world.

Sponsor: Steffani McCrary – ext. 6569, Steffani.McCrary@eastcentral.edu

 

Collegiates for Christ
Mission: Our mission is to provide teaching and fellowship for those in search of it.

Sponsor: Lisa Hanneken – ext. 6562, lisa.hanneken@eastcentral.edu

 

Engineering Club
Mission: To provide an environment for students to explore science and engineering while serving ECC and the engineering program.

Sponsors:  Linda Arrington – ext. 6677, linda.arrington@eastcentral.edu

 

ECC Student Media
Mission: The ECC Student Media Club provides students interested in writing and visual expression with a voice on campus. Club members may hold staff positions on the student newspaper, The Cornerstone, and help maintain its accompanying website. They may also help produce the annual ECC Literary Review. Writers, editors, photographers, graphic designers, and artists of any kind are encouraged to get involved.

Sponsors: Leigh Kolb – ext. 6643, leigh.kolb@eastcentral.edu

National Association for Music Education Collegiate – Chapter 6653 (NAfME)
Mission: The purpose of NAfME Collegiate is to afford students an opportunity for professional orientation and development while still in school, and to enable students to gain an understanding of: (1) the basic truths and principles that underlie the role of music in human life, (2) the philosophy and function of the music education profession, (3) the professional interests of members involved in the local, state, division, and national levels, (4) the knowledge and practices of the professional music educator as facilitated through chapter activity.

Sponsor: Aaron Bounds – ext. 6697, aaron.bounds@eastcentral.edu

 

Phi Theta Kappa – Chapters at the Union Campus & Rolla Location
Phi Theta Kappa is the international honor society for the two-year college. Members pursue activities that fall under the direction of the society’s hallmarks of Scholarship, Leadership, Service, and Fellowship.

Mission:   To recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and provide opportunities for individual growth and development.  Phi Theta Kappa membership is by invitation only and is based on attaining a 3.5 GPA as a full time student for a semester.  Members must maintain an overall GPA of 3.2.  Membership is open to all majors throughout the college, including anyone working toward a degree or certificate.

Rolla Sponsor: Dr. Beth Winters-Rozema –  573-458-0165, elizabeth.rozema@eastcentral.edu

Union Sponsor: Kevin Dixon – ext. 6631, kevin.dixon@eastcentral.edu

 

Psychology Club
Mission: The ECC Psychology Club is a student organization for all who express an interest in the Psychological Sciences. The goal of this club is to offer opportunities to increase understanding of the field, provide community service, and enrich students’ social experiences.

Sponsor: Wendy Pecka – ext. 6658, wendy.pecka@eastcentral.edu

 

Rotaract
Mission: To give future young professionals the opportunity to volunteer their time to help the community.  Rotaract is a Rotary sponsored service club.

Sponsor: Karen Klos – ext. 6614, karen.klos@eastcentral.edu

 

The R&R Club
Mission: To provide relief via recreational activities–such as video gaming, tabletop games, watching movies, etc.–from the stresses of college life, and to promote a balance between academics and fun.

Sponsor: Bill Cunningham – ext. 6651, william.cunningham@eastcentral.edu

 

SAHIM (Health Information Management Club)
Mission: To promote the field of health information management and provide opportunities for individual growth, leadership and career preparation in HIM.

Sponsor: Stephanie J. Buchholz – ext. 6611, stephanie.buchholz@eastcentral.edu

Scholar Bowl

Mission: Show off your random trivia knowledge! Topics we cover include chemistry, politics, music, video games, geography, literature, art, Netflix, Biology, Mythology, and more! Scholar Bowl is a team-based trivia competition across many different schools. We intend to represent ECC in the best way possible, and do our best in every competition.

Sponsor: Joel Doepker – ext. 6527, joel.doepker@eastcentral.edu

Social Justice League
Mission: Through education, outreach, and activism, the Social Justice League is committed to broadening awareness and appreciation of diverse social issues on and off campus.

Rolla Sponsor: Keith Pulles – ext. 6628, keith.pulles@eastcentral.edu

Union Sponsor: Leigh Kolb – ext. 6643, leigh.kolb@eastcentral.edu

 

Spanish Club/Hispanic Culture Club
Mission: The mission of the Spanish Club is to encourage appreciation of Spanish and Latin American culture. The members of the Spanish Club will sponsor culturally-related events along with opportunities to speak Spanish outside of the classroom. Participation in this club will promote awareness of humanitarian causes, both locally and internationally.

Sponsor: Ellen Aramburu – ext. 6603, ellen.aramburu@eastcentral.edu

 

Student Government Association – Clubs at the Union Campus & Rolla Location
Mission: To represent the student body in all facets of college life and promote a close relationship with the administration, faculty, and student body for the general welfare of the college. Officers at both locations  coordinate various activities and community service events.

Rolla Advisor: Jennifer Crosby – 573-466-4077, jenni.crosby@eastcentral.edu

Union Advisor: Courtney Henrichsen – ext. 6583, courtney.henrichsen@eastcentral.edu

 

Student Missouri State Teachers Association – Clubs at the Union Campus & Rolla Location
Mission: To provide a pre-service organization for future teachers and create a community within the group of students majoring in education. The organization works with MSTA on current trends and issues which affect the role and welfare of teachers in a democracy.

Rolla Sponsor: Elaine Briggs – 573-458-0165, edbriggs@eastcentral.edu

Union Sponsor: Gregory Stotler- ext. 6612, gregory.stotler@eastcentral.edu

 

Student Nurse Association – Clubs at the Union Campus & Rolla Location 
Mission: To promote teamwork and leadership skills among student nurses while working to promote health in the community.

Rolla Sponsor: Laura McDonald- 573-202-6949, laura.mcdonald@eastcentral.edu

Union Sponsor: Judy Bieker – ext. 6620, judy.bieker@eastcentral.edu

 

Z.E.D. (Zombie Extermination & Defense)
Mission:  To raise zombie and disaster awareness and to provide an opportunity to learn how to resist and survive such situations while creating a fun and friendly environment.

Sponsor:  Jennifer Chitwood – ext. 6633, jennifer.chitwood@eastcentral.edu

 

For more infomation on the clubs listed above contact the Student Activities Office located in Room 104 in the Shook Student Center on the Union campus.  Courtney Henrichsen is the Student Activities Coordinator and can be contacted at 636-584-6583 or at courtney.henrichsen@eastcentral.edu.

 

Student Government Association Student Senate meetings on the Union campus are held weekly on Fridays at 1:30 in Hansen Hall Room 286. All students are welcome to attend!

 

To be recognized as a club by the ECC Student Government Association, the potential organization must have:

1. One full time faculty/staff sponsor.
2. 16 signatures of ECC students. (8 stating they will be in the club and 8 saying they will support this club)
3. Potential club members who agree to adhere to the Student Code of Conduct.
4. Submitted a club name and mission statement.
5. Verification of completion of these requirements by the Vice President of Student Development and one advisor to the Student Government Association.

Once these requirements have been met the Student Government Association will recognize the club at the next SGA Student Senate meeting.