Clubs and Organizations


Joining a club can enrich your college experience, offering both personal and professional benefits that extend beyond the classroom.

Joining a club at ECC offers several valuable benefits:

  1. Networking: Clubs provide opportunities to meet people with similar interests, which can lead to friendships and professional connections.
  2. Skill Development: Many clubs focus on specific skills or interests, offering chances to learn and practice outside the classroom.
  3. Resume Building: Active participation in clubs shows dedication and can enhance your resume, especially if you take on leadership roles.
  4. Personal Growth: Clubs often encourage members to take initiative, develop teamwork skills, and gain confidence.
  5. Social Engagement: They provide a social outlet outside of academic pressures, helping you balance your college experience.
  6. Exploring Interests: Clubs allow you to explore new hobbies or interests you may not have had a chance to pursue before.

The clubs listed below are currently active.  Clubs retain their active status by maintaining a roster of five members each semester.  Each club is also required to have a faculty or staff sponsor.

Students with a particular interest are encouraged to start their own clubs.  That process is outlined at the bottom of this page with supporting information on the “Forms and Applications” page.


Art Club- Union Campus

Mission: To create a vision of community around the arts.

Sponsor: Leigh Kolb – leigh.kolb@eastcentral.edu


Collegiate DECA- Union Campus

Mission: DECA prepares emerging leaders and entrepreneurs in marketing, finance, hospitality, and management in high schools and colleges around the world.

Sponsor: Steffani McCrary – steffani.sccrary@eastcentral.edu


Creative Writing Club- Union & Rolla Campus

Mission: To create a supportive community of creative writers in which aspiring writers can share ideas, explore possibilities, and discover publishing opportunities.
Creative Writing Club Constitution

Sponsor: Katie Holtmeyer- katie.holtmeyer@eastcentral.edu


Crochet Club- Union Campus

Sponsor: Jenifer Goodson- jenifer.goodson@eastcentral.edu


Democratic Socialists of America- Union Campus

Sponsor: John Hardecke- john.hardecke@eastcentral.edu


Disc Golf Club- Union Campus

Mission: To foster a vibrant community of disc golf enthusiasts among students. We promote skill development, sportsmanship, and camaraderie through regular play, competitions, and events; enhancing the college experience through the spirit of disc golf.

Sponsor: Timothy Gray- timothy.gray@eastcentral.edu


ECC Christian Club- Union Campus

Mission: Our mission is to provide teaching and fellowship for those in search of it.

Sponsor: Lisa Hanneken- lisa.hanneken@eastcentral.edu


Engineering Club- Union Campus

Mission: To provide an environment for students to explore science and engineering while serving ECC and the engineering program.

Sponsors:  Alison Tucker – alison.tucker@eastcentral.edu

Isaiah Kellogg – isaiah.kellogg@eastcentral.edu


ECC Student Media- Union Campus

Mission: The ECC Student Media Club provides students interested in writing and visual expression with a voice on campus. Club members may hold staff positions on the student newspaper, The Cornerstone, and help maintain its accompanying website. They may also help produce the annual ECC Literary Review. Writers, editors, photographers, graphic designers, and artists of any kind are encouraged to get involved.

Sponsor: Leigh Kolb – leigh.kolb@eastcentral.edu


First Gen Club – Union Campus

Sponsor: Elizabet Flotte- elizabeth.flotte@eastcentral.edu


Gardening Club – Union Campus

Sponsor: Dr. Rich Hudanick – richard.hudanick@eastcentral.edu


Gender & Sexualities Alliance (GSA)- Union Campus

Mission: To build a sense of community between all students on campus regardless of gender, sexuality, or any other distinguishing characteristics, as well as provide a safe social place with a strong system, and most importantly; work to educate.

Sponsor: Elizabet Flotte- elizabeth.flotte@eastcentral.edu


Health Information Management Club- Union Campus

Mission: To promote the field of health information management and provide opportunities for individual growth, leadership, and career preparation in HIM.

Sponsor: Kim Daman-Scheel- kim.daman-scheel@eastcentral.edu


LPN Student Organization – Rolla Campus

Sponsors:  Michelle Chick – michelle.chick@eastcentral.edu
Jessica Fisher – jessica.fisher@eastcentral.edu


National Association for Music Education Collegiate –  (Inactive)

Mission: The purpose of NAfME Collegiate is to afford students an opportunity for professional orientation and development while still in school, and to enable students to gain an understanding of: (1) the basic truths and principles that underlie the role of music in human life, (2) the philosophy and function of the music education profession, (3) the professional interests of members involved in the local, state, division, and national levels, (4) the knowledge and practices of the professional music educator as facilitated through chapter activity.

Sponsor: Aaron Bounds –aaron.bounds@eastcentral.edu


Phi Theta Kappa – Chapters at the Union & Rolla Campus

Phi Theta Kappa is the international honor society for the two-year college. Members pursue activities that fall under the direction of the society’s hallmarks of Scholarship, Leadership, Service, and Fellowship.

Mission:   To recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and provide opportunities for individual growth and development.  Phi Theta Kappa membership is by invitation only and is based on attaining a 3.5 GPA as a full-time student for a semester.  Members must maintain an overall GPA of 3.2.  Membership is open to all majors throughout the college, including anyone working toward a degree or certificate.

Union Sponsors: Kevin Dixon – kevin.dixon@eastcentral.edu

Dr. Wendy Pecka – wendy.pecka@eastcentral.edu

Rolla Sponsor: Dr. Beth Winters-Rozema – elizabeth.rozema@eastcentral.edu


Photography Club -Rolla Campus

Sponsors: Keith Pulles- Keith.Pulles@eastcentral.edu


Psychology Club- Union and Rolla Campus

Mission: The ECC Psychology Club is a student organization for all who express an interest in the Psychological Sciences. The goal of this club is to offer opportunities to increase understanding of the field, provide community service, and enrich students’ social experiences.

Union Sponsors: Dr. Wendy Pecka- wendy.pecka@eastcentral.edu
Rachel Howard-  rachel.howard@eastcentral.edu

Rolla Sponsor: TBD


Rad Tech Club – Rolla Campus

Sponsors: Brandi Grindel – brandi.grindel@eastcentral.edu

Laura Ditmeyer – laura.ditmeyer@eastcentral.edu


Rotaract- Union Campus

Mission: To give future young professionals the opportunity to volunteer their time to help the community.  Rotaract is a Rotary sponsored service club.

Sponsor: TBD


The R&R Club- Union Campus

Mission: To provide relief via recreational activities–such as video gaming, tabletop games, watching movies, etc.–from the stresses of college life, and to promote a balance between academics and fun.

Sponsor: Abbie Unnerstall – abigail.unnerstall@eastcentral.edu 


Scholar Bowl- Union Campus

Mission: Show off your random trivia knowledge! Topics we cover include chemistry, politics, music, video games, geography, literature, art, Netflix, Biology, Mythology, and more! Scholar Bowl is a team-based trivia competition across many different schools. We intend to represent ECC in the best way possible and do our best in every competition.

Head Sponsor: Joel Doepker – joel.doepker@eastcentral.edu

Co-Sponsor: Gregory Stotler-  gregory.stotler@eastcentral.edu


*Student Government Association –  Union & Rolla Campus

Mission: To represent the student body in all facets of college life and promote a close relationship with the administration, faculty, and student body for the general welfare of the college. Officers at both locations coordinate various activities and community service events.

Union Advisor: Andy Klingensmith- andy.klingensmith@eastcentral.edu

Rolla Advisor: Tracy Mowery – tracy.mowery@eastcentral.edu


Student Missouri State Teachers Association –  Union & Rolla Campus

Mission: To provide a pre-service organization for future teachers and create a community within the group of students majoring in education. The organization works with MSTA on current trends and issues which affect the role and welfare of teachers in a democracy.

Union Sponsor: Gregory Stotler-  gregory.stotler@eastcentral.edu


Student Nurses Association – Union & Rolla Campus 

Mission: To promote teamwork and leadership skills among student nurses while working to promote health in the community.

Union Sponsor: Jessica Van Leer- jessica.vanleer@eastcentral.edu

Rolla Sponsor: Joannie Blakely- joannie.blakely@eastcentral.edu


Surg Tech Club – Rolla Campus

Sponsors: Jennifer Wall – jennifer.wall@eastcentral.edu
Megan Vanbibber – megan.vanbibber@eastcentral.edu


For more information on the clubs at ECC, contact the Student Activities Office- Donald Shook Student Center, 104.

Andy Klingensmith- Campus Life and Leadership Coordinator-  andy.klingensmith@eastcentral.edu, 636.584.6583


*Student Government Association meetings are held regularly each semester by both Main Campus SGA and Rolla SGA. Times and locations will vary by semester, so checking your email for the weekly calendar or contacting the advisor is the best way to learn about meeting times. 

Club officers are members of the ECC student senate and should attend SGA meetings at their location. Officers will provide updates regarding their club’s proceedings to earn seed money.


To be recognized as a club by the ECC Student Government Association, the potential organization must have:

1. One full-time faculty/staff sponsor (if you don’t have one in mind, the Campus Life & Leadership Coordinator can help you find one).
2. Five signatures of students who are interested in participating in the club.
3. Potential club members who agree to adhere to the Student Code of Conduct.
4. Submitted a club name and a club constitution to the Campus Life and Leadership Coordinator.
5. Verification of completion of these requirements by the Campus Life and Leadership Coordinator and the proper SGA advisor (determined by club’s primary campus).

Once these requirements have been met, the Student Government Association will recognize the club at their next meeting and vote to approve or deny the club’s formation.