College President to Chair State Higher Ed Advisory Committee

October 7, 2022 | Campus News ECC Rolla

East Central College President Dr. Jon Bauer recently was named the chairperson of the state’s Coordinating Board for Higher Education (CBHE) Presidential Advisory Committee.

In that role, Bauer will be the voice of presidents and chancellors of community colleges and four-year institutions to the CBHE. The CBHE oversees the state’s Department of Higher Education & Workforce Development.

“This is an opportunity to advise the state board on matters that directly impact East Central, community colleges, and high education in general across the state,” Bauer said. “I am thankful for this opportunity to serve.”

Bauer will be Advisory Committee chair for two years. Kristin Sobolik, chancellor of the University of Missouri-St. Louis, was appointed as vice chair of the committee.

The Presidential Advisory Committee consists of 32 members – the president, chancellor or chief administrative officer of each of the community colleges, and the public four-year colleges and universities in Missouri.

Also on the committee is the president of State Technical College, as well as representatives from privately supported college and universities, according to state statute.