ECC NEA Honors Inspiring Local Teachers

ECC NEA Honors Inspiring Local Teachers

May 17, 2022 | ,

Eleven high school teachers from this area were honored last week by the East Central College chapter of the National Education Association (NEA) for the positive influence that have on their students, and dedication to teaching.

ECC Faculty members Jenifer Goodson, EMS Program Director; and Lisa Hanneken, assistant professor of accounting and business, were co-chairs of the “Inspirer of Excellence” Teacher Recognition Award Ceremony.

“You, as our community partners, are not thanked or recognized enough for your role in our mission which is, ‘Empowering students and enriching communities through education,’ ” Goodson said.

“So, thank you. Thank you for everyday meeting students where they are and taking them to where they need to be,” she added. “Thank you for continuing to entrust your students to us. Every day we will work to earn that trust and help students take those next steps.”

ECC students were asked to nominate former teachers. This year, there were 11 teachers selected.

Melissa Bestgen — Union High School English/Speech, Emma Thomas and Shawna Mohrlock.

Christy Clark — formerly at Washington High School, Choir, Andrew Utz.

Ruth Diaz — Rolla High School, ECC, Rolla Technical Center and Rolla Early Childhood; Child Development, Jessica Richardson and Janessa Metzen.

Emily Edens — Bourbon High School, History, Alexis Ham.

Donna Hinson — Owensville High School, Owensville Gasconade County R2, Math, Emily Copeland and Stephani Elliott.

Jaime Hoener — New Haven High School, Math, Miranda Durbin.

Todd Nicks — Steelville High School, Choir, Lauren Freeman.

Robert Prichard — St. Clair High School R-XIII, Social Studies, Scholar Bowl sponsor, Model UN team sponsor, Kierra Miller.

James Rinehart — Rolla High School, Rolla School District, History, Janessa Metzen.

Rachel Stahl — retired Washington High School, AP English, Creative Writing, Ella Barton.

Katherine (Katie) Wayne — Pacific High School, English, Madeline Stinnett.

Awards Established

Goodson noted that Susan Henderson was instrumental in establishing the ECC-NRA in 2016. Henderson served as ECC-NEA president for two years, vice president for three years, as well as being a role model and mentor to faculty.

During her time in the ECC-NEA, the origination established the Inspirers of Excellence Awards.

“Sue’s idea came from the inspiration she received from one of her former teachers, ‘Mrs. Good.’ “Goodson said.

“Mrs. Good taught with joy and humor and Sue has stated, ‘I wanted to become a teacher like her.’ “