Hardy, Freitag Sworn in as ECC Trustees

April 15, 2024 | Campus News

When JT Hardy and Audry Freitag were sworn in as East Central College Trustees, it was the first time since 2018 that the makeup of the board changed.

Hardy, who ran unopposed in Subdistrict 1, replaced Prudence Fink Johnson, who did not seek re-election after serving as a trustee for 30 years. Freitag, also unopposed, was elected to her third term on the board. However, she is now representing Subdistrict 2, due to a subdistrict realignment. The district lines were changed in fall 2022 to better align with the population of the College’s taxing district.

Freitag’s subdistrict includes portions of central and western Franklin County, including Union and New Haven school districts. Hardy represents St. Clair and Sullivan school districts, and the parts of Crawford and Washington counties within the ECC Taxing District.

The ECC board consists of six trustees, two each from three sub-districts of the college district. Though trustees are elected at large, a board member must be a resident of the sub-district he or she represents.

Johnson was first elected to the Board of Trustees in 1994. A reception was held in her honor prior to the April 11 Board meeting, her final meeting as a Trustee. Johnson was presented with a resolution recognizing her 30 years of dedication to the College.

Following the swearing in of Hardy and Freitag, the Trustees re-elected board officers.

Board Officers

Ann Hartley will continue to serve as board president, and Dr. Joe Stroetker will continue to serve as vice president. Dr. Eric Park remains the board treasurer, while Ina “Cookie” Hays was re-elected as the board secretary. Hardy and Freitag will serve as directors. Board officers are elected to two-year terms.

Bonnie Gardner, executive assistant to the president, was re-appointed recording secretary through June 30. Stacey Langan was appointed to serve as recording secretary beginning July 1, following Gardner’s retirement.

The Board of Trustees is the sole statutory legislative governing body responsible for the control and operation of ECC. Monthly meetings are normally held on the first Monday of the month on campus. Learn more about the Board of Trustees.