#InspiringExcellence – MCCA Award Winners

#InspiringExcellence – MCCA Award Winners

November 6, 2017 | ,

Kevin Ijames Sr., Audrey Freitag, Kevin Dixon and Karen Butterfield were honored at the 2017 Missouri Community College Association in November.

Ijames, President of Ace Manufacturing, was honored with the Distinguished Business and Industry Award. It is presented annually to individuals and/or businesses that have engaged in significant partnerships with their local community college to stimulate economic activity and support community college students and programs.

Audrey Freitag received the Distinguished Alumni Award. It is presented annually to exceptional individuals who have attended a Missouri community college.  Primary criteria for selection include outstanding professional accomplishments and outstanding contributions to his/her community.

Kevin Dixon was honored with the Senior Service Award. It is presented annually to a long-serving employee from each of Missouri’s community colleges/campuses.  Recipients are recommended for the award by their campus president/chancellor.  To receive this award, the employee must have worked at a community college for 20 years or more.

Karen Butterfield, Union Editor of The Missourian, received the News Media Award. It is presented annually to members of the media whose work promotes understanding and appreciation of community colleges’ mission, students, faculty, staff, and administrators, as well as the unique challenges and opportunities facing community colleges.

Photo: Front, left to right: Dr. Jon Bauer, Audrey Freitag, Karen Butterfield, Keven Ijames Sr., ECC Board of Trustees President Ann Hartley.
Back, left to right: ECC Board of Trustees Secretary Don Kappelman, ECC Board of Trustees Member Dr. Eric Park, ECC Board of Trustees Vice President Dr. Joseph Stroetker and ECC Board of Trustees Member Cookie Hays. Not pictured: Kevin Dixon.