ECC, Department Receive 10-Year Music Accreditation

ECC, Department Receive 10-Year Music Accreditation

January 11, 2022 | ,

East Central College and its Music Department received full accreditation with the National Association of Schools of Music (NASM), a rare distinction among community colleges.

The NASM Commission on Community Colleges approved the ECC’s 10-year accreditation.

NASM is an organization of approximately 637 accredited institutional members, including colleges and universities. The association establishes standards for undergraduate and graduate degrees in music-related disciplines. The standards ensure the level of rigor expected of students and articulating requirements of the curriculum.

ECC has been accredited by NASM since 2014. The Music Department and the college underwent a comprehensive review in 2020-21 for a reaccreditation process, which included a team of evaluators coming to the college for an on-site visit in March 2021.

Dr. Jennifer Judd, the music department program coordinator, noted that the purpose of pursuing NASM accreditation is to provide an optimal learning environment for music students and to develop a nationally recognized program.

“We were able to demonstrate the administration and community’s strong support of our program and the fine work by our faculty, staff, and students during the review process,” she said.

According to Dr. Robyn Walter, ECC vice president of academic affairs, there are very few community colleges that hold a NASM distinction.

“I am so proud of our music department faculty and staff, our students, and our patrons who support them,” she said.  “NASM accreditation is a remarkable achievement. Full accreditation with a 10-year approval is an amazing achievement. Such a mark of quality!”

NASM is recognized by the United States Department of Education as the agency responsible for the accreditation of all music curricula and is designated as one of the U.S. Secretary-approved accrediting bodies for federal funding, like the Higher Learning Commission.