Union PTK Celebrates 50 Years, Inducts 29 Members

Union PTK Celebrates 50 Years, Inducts 29 Members

December 3, 2020 |

There were 29 East Central College students inducted into the Chi Delta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) this Fall.

The annual Fall Induction Ceremony was Nov. 1 for the PTK, the international honor society for two-year colleges.

This year marks 50 years for the Chi Delta chapter, which was chartered in November 1970, according to PTK Advisor Kevin Dixon

He added that the event was held virtually and featured recorded messages from Dr. Lynn Tincher-Ladner, president and CEO of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society; and video greetings from Jo and Steve Fritts, PTK’s Missouri Regional Coordinators at Ozarks Technical Community College, Springfield.

“Dr. Jon Bauer (ECC president) greeted the inductees on behalf of the college and described his involvement with Phi Theta Kappa when he was a student member at Jefferson College,” Dixon said.

The videos were followed by Dixon’s telling of the history of the chapter, and then he and the officers continued with the induction ceremony.

As a member of PTK, students will pursue the society’s hallmarks of Scholarship, Leadership, Service and Fellowship.

The students must have at least a 3.4 GPA and be a full-time student for one semester in order to be invited into PTK. After being inducted, students must maintain a 3.2 GPA. Membership is open to students pursuing a degree or certificate, no matter the major.

Following are the new Chi Delta Chapter PTK inductees:

  • Gabrielle Baker, Robertsville
  • Mason Blum, Sullivan
  • Caleb Brinker, Washington
  • Amanda Dalton, St.Clair
  • Miranda Douglas, Washington
  • Hayley Durbin, Labadie
  • Kaili Edler, High Ridge
  • Tiffany Gildehaus, Pacific
  • Shayla Goddard, Sullivan
  • Donna Hall, Warrenton
  • Joseph Havelka, Owensville
  • Jenna Jasper, Leslie
  • Eric Jones, Washington
  • Danielle Kimminau, Washington
  • Destiny Lafferty, Washington
  • Paxton Ludwig, Labadie
  • Sawyer Ludwig, Labadie
  • Macey Madigan, St. Clair
  • Nicholas Maxey, Pacific.
  • Jerika McClure, Rolla
  • Abigail Movila Union
  • Hunter Moyer, St. Clair
  • Lauren Pieske, Union
  • Sierra Pitman, Sullivan
  • Emily Sappington, Leslie
  • Kyleah Stahlman, Union
  • Alexandra Velasco, Marthasville
  • Tara White, Bourbon
  • Emily Zweifel, Union.